Act To Change Welcomes New Members to its Board Of Directors

Act to Change bitmap22
Act to Change bitmap25
Act to Change bitmap24



Act To Change Welcomes New Members to its Board Of Directors

As the Covid-19 pandemic continues to give rise to reports of bullying against people of Asian descent, anti-bullying non-profit Act To Change is pleased to announce new additions to its Board of Directors:

  • Josef Canaria, Michigan Coalition to End Domestic and Sexual Violence
  • Elaine Dang, Engagement Manager, McKinsey & Company
  • Jamie Lok, Public Health Analyst, US Department of Health and Human Services
  • Anthony Reyes, staff member, United States Senate
  • Nancy Tien, Education Consultant with Education Powered, Election Coordinator with Dallas Kids First

This past month, Act To Change celebrated its two-year anniversary as a nonprofit. As the only national nonprofit with a primary focus on ending bullying among Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) youth, Act To Change’s work includes programming for youth, caregivers, and educators; coalition building and advocacy; and data. The organization leverages an interdisciplinary approach that spans education, public health, and civil rights. Co-founded by actor, author, and activist Maulik Pancholy, Act To Change originally launched in October 2015 as a public awareness campaign under President Obama’s White House Initiative on AAPIs.

“I’m thrilled to welcome this high caliber group of individuals to Act To Change’s Board of Directors,” says Pancholy. “With their tremendous talent and passion, we’re looking forward to building upon our previous successes and making sure we can help all AAPI youth feel safe and proud of who they are.”

The new board members have hit the ground running. They were each instrumental in planning Act To Change’s second annual anti-bullying youth conference, Youth Rising, held last October during National Bullying Prevention Month. The youth conference featured TV personality Tan France, author of Loveboat, Taipei Abigail Hing Wen, actors Hudson Yang and Ashley Park, and host of Nickelodeon’s Blues Clues and You! Josh Dela Cruz, along with AAPI youth leaders from schools across the country.

Read more here about our new board members.